NFL Week One Picks

As I alluded to earlier, I am in a couple of different NFL Pick leagues.  Below are my picks for each and every game and a short reasoning as to why I picked what I did.  I know picks are normally posted ahead of the games but I do not want to tip my hand to anyone that I am picking against.  If any proof is needed talk to me.  Straight up picks will be bolded and spread picks will be italicized.

Dallas Cowboys @ New York Giants -3.5

New York has not been a great regular season team the last few seasons and had some injury trouble.  Dallas is looking extremely promising on offense and I figured would come hot out of the gate.

Indianapolis Colts @ Chicago Bears-10.5

The Colts had the worst team in the league last season and even the number one pick in the draft cannot turn this team around.  Chicago upgraded their offense in every aspect except offensive line and has the same serviceable defense as last year.  Chicago is a playoff team this year

Philadelphia Eagles @ Cleveland Browns +8.5

I figured Philadelphia would come out stronger against the Browns, I have them fighting Dallas to win the NFC East this year.  Cleveland is starting a rookie at running back and quarterback and has a poor offensive line.  Philly was also my survivor pick and I almost did not make it out of week one.

St. Louis Rams @ Detroit Lions -8.5

The Lions are good, but not good enough to blow away the Rams.  This was more a gut pick than based off of anything tangible.

New England Patriots @ Tennessee Titans +6.5

New England is a power team and Tennessee is a bottom feeder.  Tom Brady over Jake Locker any day.

Atlanta @ Kansas City +0.5

I debated long and hard on this pick, KC returned a lot of big name players, but I knew Atlanta’s offense was just too potent.  Not even the hallowed Arrowhead stadium could slow them down.

Jacksonville Jaguars @ Minnesota Vikings -4.5

Adrian Peterson was playing for the Vikings, that was good enough for me.  I was fortunate that the Vikes didn’t fold under pressure like last season.  Blair Walsh came up big for the purple men.

Washington Redskins @ New Orleans Saints -9.5

I was wrong about the Saints winning, but I knew that the Redskins would keep it close.  Much turmoil about the Saints and Robert Griffin III is the real deal.

Buffalo Bills @ New York Jets -3.5

The Jets looked horrible in the preseason with no promise of better things coming.  I was high on Fitzpatrick and was wrong.

Miami Dolphins @ Houston Texans -7.5

Miami looks like a bottom three team and Houston looks like a top three team in the league.

San Francisco 49ers @ Green Bay Packers -6.5

San Francisco returns this season with one of the best defenses in the league.  They upgraded their offense and Smith looked better toward the end of the year.  Green Bay likes to drop passes.

Seattle Seahawks@ Arizona Cardinals -1.5

I had more faith in Wilson than Skelton/Kolb.  That was my mistake.

Carolina Panthers@ Tampa Bay Buccaneers +2.5

I really thought Cam Newton would play better than he did, and that Tampa did not have much talent.

Pittsburgh Steelers @ Denver Broncos-1.5

Peyton Manning manning any offense is a smart decision.  Denver returns a solid defense and Pittsburgh is slowly getting old.

Cincinnati Bengals @ Baltimore Ravens -6.5

I feel as if the Bengals are a playoff team, but the Ravens play well in openers and Flacco has a lot to prove this season.

San Diego Chargers @ Oakland Raiders +1.5

The Raiders lost some key play makers and San Diego needs a win to keep pace with Denver.

 

Just so you don’t have to go back and count what I got wrong and what I got right, I finished with 12/16 in straight up to be at 99.6 percentile and ranked 1,613 amongst ESPN players and 11/16 against the spread to be at 98.9 percentile and ranked 1379.

About millerhour

I will probably write about a lot of things nobody cares to read. There is also a good chance I do not update this very often.
This entry was posted in NFL, Opinion and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

